HKIAC Welcomes New Council Members


首页新闻HKIAC Welcomes New Council Members
General News


As a result of the retirement of certain long-standing members of Council, Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC) has been fortunate in replacing them with four outstanding international commercial arbitration practitioners.

Lord Peter Goldsmith, QC, PC, Chair of European and Asian Litigation, served as the UK’s Attorney General from 2001-2007 and is a partner at Debevoise & Plimpton. Specialising in commercial, corporate and international litigation and appellate work, Lord Peter Goldsmith will be spending more time in Hong Kong setting up Debevoise & Plimpton’s Asia Disputes practice.

Henri Alvarez is the Co-Chair of the Fasken Martineau firm's International Law Practice Group. Henri has over 20 years of experience in the field of international commercial arbitration and dispute resolution and has acted in disputes involving investments, trade, franchising, licensing, distributorship, construction, forestry, oil and gas, energy, banking, corporate and general commercial disputes. He has served as a sole arbitrator, party-appointed arbitrator and Chairman in many international matters and regularly conducts arbitrations in English, Spanish and French.

Justin D’Agostino, head of the China Disputes practice at Herbert Smith, specialises in international commercial arbitration and public international law. Justin has acted as counsel and advocate before arbitral tribunals in a number of jurisdictions and has experience in arbitrations under the institutional rules, such as CIETAC, ICC, SIAC, LCIA and ICSID, and ad hoc under the UNCITRAL Rules, as well as under the HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules.

Timothy Hill is the partner at Hogan Lovells who has been practicing in Hong Kong for over 20 years and was the former chairman of the East Asian Branch of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators. Tim is based in Hong Kong and has extensive experience in relation to advisory work in the construction industry and construction disputes.

Their cumulative experience and expertise will be of great assistance to the HKIAC whose cases under the 2008 Administered Arbitration Rules have more than doubled in 2011 since 2010.

For further comments, please feel free to contact Mr Neil Kaplan (Honorary Chairperson of HKIAC), Dr Michael Moser (Honorary Chairperson of HKIAC) or Ms Teresa Cheng (Vice Chairperson of HKIAC).

The following persons can also be contacted in respect of this Press Release.

Mr Huen Wong – Chairperson of Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre

Ms Chiann Bao – Secretary-General of Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre

Lord Peter Goldsmith - Debevoise & Plimpton, Hong Kong

Mr Henri Alvarez - Fasken Martineau, Canada

Mr Justin D’ Agostino – Herbert Smith, Hong Kong

Mr Timothy Hill – Hogan Lovells, Hong Kong


Media Contact

Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre
Tel:  (852) 2525  2381 
Fax: (852) 2524 2171